« back to news

Center City Opera and Part III of the Trilogy - La Muerte

February 25, 2013

Hector Armienta began developing the trilogy in 1996. Rio de Mujeres, a chamber opera, was the first work to be composed. Under the stage direction of Jose Maria Condemi, it premiered in 2001 at San Francisco's Theater Artaud. It has had three prouctions so far.

In 2008 Western Stage Theater produced La Llorona/The Weeping Woman. Though it was the second work to be developed, it is part I of the trilogy. Rio De Mujeres is part II. La Llorona has had three productions and received an NEA grant in artistic excellence. 

Part III of the trilogy is entitled - La Muerte. 

Here's a short description of the work:

Now in her seventies, Paula can sense the end is near. The visions of her deceased daughter Elisa and of the others (Karankawa Indians of long ago) are more frequent. Her family thinks it is dementia, but Paula is simply in conversation with Death.  She has seen La Llorona (Weeping Woman), been touched by the spirit of the great River, and knows La Muerte  well. The journey to the other world and to the daughter that La Llorona stole from her has at last begun.    

The trilogy was inspired by the life of Armienta's grandmother, Paula Lopez, who is pictured below.

Here's a video about the first two parts of the trilogy.